Forgot password?

About Iran

Iran at a glance

Capital: Tehran

Calling code: +98

Religion: Islam

Currency: Rials (IRR)

Official language: Persian

Climate: four season country

Ethnic Groups: Azeris, Kurds, Arabs, Baluchi, and Lors. Others include Turkmen, Qashqai, Mazandarani, Talysh and Gilaki .

Iran is also known as Persia, a mountainous, ethnically diverse country in southwestern of Asia. Much of Iran consists of a central desert plateau, which is ringed on all sides by high mountain ranges.

Iran is bounded to the north by Azerbaijan, Armenia, Turkmenistan, and the Caspian Sea, to the east by Pakistan and Afghanistan, to the south by the Persian Gulf and the Gulf of Oman, and to the west by Turkey and Iraq. Iran also controls about a dozen islands in the Persian Gulf. About one-third of its 4,770mile (7,680km) boundary is seacoast